Course Outline: CCENT

The Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) certification is the first stage of Cisco's certification system. The CCENT certification is an entry level to the associate level and upper curriculum options like CCNA and CCDA certifications, but is not actually required to take any of these courses or the related exams.

The CCENT program covers basic networking knowledge but it does not get into the intricate technical aspects of the Cisco routing and switching, and network design. The certification does validate the skills essential for entry-level network support positions. CCENT qualified individuals have the knowledge and skill to install, manage, maintain and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network, including network security. The CCENT curriculum covers networking fundamentals, WAN technologies, basic security and wireless concepts, routing and switching fundamentals, and configuring simple networks.

CCENT Program

Prior to taking the CCENT exam (640-822 ICND1), Cisco recommends the next training course: Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1 (ICND1).

  • Course Introduction
  • Module 1: Building a Simple Network
  • Module 2: Ethernet LANs
  • Module 3: WLANs
  • Module 4: LAN Connections
  • Module 5: WAN Connections
  • Module 6: Network Environment Management Capstone Lab: Network Environment Management Lab Guide

CCENT certifications are valid for three years. To recertify, pass ONE of the following exams before the certification expiration date: ICND1, ICND2 CCNA, CCDA, CCNA concentration exams (security, wireless, voice, SP Ops), CCNP, CCIE, CCDE or CCAr.

Hopefully, I will cover all this topics on this site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *